Scholars' Association News
Issue 37
February 2016


Show Images Hide Images

Next article
Onassis Prizes for Shipping, Trade and Finance awarded

The international Onassis Prizes, one of the top international distinctions in the fields of Shipping, Trade and Finance, were awarded to this year’s winners at the Guildhall in the City of London on 14 September 2015. More than 500 representatives of academia and the business world attended the illustrious event.

This year’s winners in the finance sector were two academics: Prof. Emeritus C. Myers (Robert C. Merton (1970) Professor of Finance / Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and Prof. Richard Roll (Linde Professor of Finance / California Institute of Technology) who shared the prize.

In the international trade sector, Professor Gene M. Grossman from Princeton University took the prize.

In the shipping sector, a further two academics shared the prize: Prof. Emeritus Trevor D. Heaver (Director of the Centre for Transportation Studies / Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia) and Dr. Martin Stopford (Non-Executive President / Clarksons Research Services Limited).

Dr. Anthony Papadimitriou, President of the Onassis Foundation and chairman of the prize nominees evaluation committee stressed that, “Onassis became famous during his own life time and afterwards, for his skill in shipping, finance and trade. The Onassis Foundation proudly associates its Founder’s name with the Corporation of the City of London and the Costas Grammenos Centre for Shipping Trade and Finance (City University London), which are acclaimed international centres of learning and research in those fields”.

Professor Costas Grammenos, founder of the Centre for Shipping Trade and Finance of the Cass Business School noted that, “The international Onassis Prizes honour an academic’s life’s-work, in areas and fields that in the past lacked an international platform for such recognition. My heartfelt congratulations to the winners, whose outstanding performance has helped promote their academic disciplines and who continue to influence both academic thinking and business activity globally”.

The prizes are awarded every three years and are jointly organised by the Onassis Foundation and the Cass Business School (which is part of City University London) in partnership with the City of London. The Onassis Foundation established the first round of international prizes in 1978, reflecting the objectives initially set by Aristotle Onassis for international prizes to be awarded, as outlined in his holographic will. Between then and now the international prizes have gone through 3 successive phases. In this current (third) phase, the prizes focus on the exceptionally important business areas outlined above.

Note too that in the current phase of the prizes, personalities who are still at the peak of their career are chosen, so that the prize can push them to new heights and help further develop and advance their work.

Next article ›